Dancehall Giants Featured On Mr. Brown Rhythm Project

Couch Mode
In 1970, Bob Marley & the Wailers recorded the song Mr. Brown for producer Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry at the Randy’s recording studio in Kingston. Now 42 years later, the beat accompanying the enigmatic track has found favour with a new generation of music lovers. The Mr. Brown rhythm has been updated by producer Adrian Hanson and Peter ‘Shady’ Harrison. Released on the Shadyville Music/Donsome Records imprint, the project has already warmed the airwaves with songs from a hit list of entertainers and newcomers.

However the songs on the Mr. Brown rhythm project are not only attracting solid rotation in Jamaica but also in parts of Europe and North America. In a release to the media, Hanson explained the idea behind the updating of the Mr. Brown rhythm.

‘Myself and Peter ‘Shady’ Harrison decided that we wanted to bring back a real reggae vibe to the music where the fans can feel, the real culture vibes that been missing from reggae music today. So we go back to the roots of reggae and first song that came to mind was Mr. Brown by Bob Marley & the Wailers”, said Hanson.

Work on the project had been in the pipeline for sometime but the producers decided not to release the compilation until they had all the artistes that they wanted for the project.

Said Hanson, ‘Even though some radio disc jocks had been playing some of the songs for a while, this is the first time that music fans all over the world can actually purchase the project as a compilation”. The Mr. Brown rhythm compilation album features 19 songs and two instrumentals including a dub version of the Mr. Brown rhythm. Hanson revealed that the label had a working relationship with the artistes hence it wasn’t a difficult task to get the artistes involved.

Among the artistes who are featured on the compilation are Tanya Stephens, Aidonia (who recorded his first ever one drop song for the project), Half Pint, Perfect, Jack Radics, Natural Black, Beenie Man, Anthony Cruz, Anthony Red Rose, Lukie D and budding singer Khristopher.

Early response to the project has been nothing short of overwhelming. The tracks by Stephens, Half Pint, Natural Black, and Aidonia are among the tracks which have so far found favour with radio disc jocks. The songs are all available on ITunes. The Mr. Brown rhythm compilation is the latest project out of the Donsome Records stables. The label is best known for its chart topping rhythm projects including Hard Rock, Life Journey, Kill Dem, and Crime Stop rhythms.

The track list for the Mr. Brown rhythm reads: Ma by Aidonia; In Jah We Trust by Turbulence; Remember the Days by Lukie D; Tune in by Natural Black; Love Come First by Perfect; Tomorrow by Beenie Man; Not the Same by Don Mafia; Dirty Thoughts by Tanya Stephens; Last Night by Half Pint; Because of You by Khristopher; Don’t Give Up by Frisco Kid aka Ancient Monarchy; H.O.T.H. by Stein; Feel up Feel Up by Anthony Cruz; Confusing World by Hero; High Crisis by Anthony Red Rose; Gotta Survive by Stacious; and Don’t Stress Man by Merciless.
‘So far I would say this is one of my best projects to date”, Hanson concluded.
Facebook Conversations
Back To Top